Clinical Quality Track Participants Chosen for 2014

KILP Org Chart

The first class of Clinical Quality track participants in the North Carolina Medical Society’s Kanof Institute for Physician Leadership has been selected. These teams, of up to three members, including at least one physician and up to two additional team members will participate in intensive clinical quality training allowing them to contribute to excellence in health care quality within their practice setting. 

The Clinical Quality program is just one of three educational offerings of the Institute for Physician Leadership. The second is the NCMS Leadership College, which offers NCMS members training in successful negotiation, effective communications, advocacy as well as other leadership skills. The third program of the Institute, projected to enroll its first class in 2014, will be the Healthcare Management track, which will provide more in-depth training in emotional intelligence and business acumen.

The 2014 Clinical Quality teams are:

The Alamance Regional Medical Center’s team of Vipul Shah, MD, Christopher Harley and Vicki Davis will work to enhance teamwork among providers and staff, and improve documentation and communication of patients’ clinical condition.

The Betty H. Cameron Women and Children’s Hospital, NICU (nominated by Coastal Carolina Neonatology)team of Kathryn Colacchio, MD, Jule Dube, NNP and Brandi Page, RN, BSN, NE-BC will use simulation as a means to improve communication in the delivery room.

The Blue Ridge Pediatrics’ team of Gregory L. Adams, MD, Laura Hardee and Merina Church will work on medical home development of transition of care, patient satisfaction surveys, phone calls, protocols for asthma and ADD and to improve their web site and EMR.

The Carolina Skin Surgery Center team of Marc Carruth, MD, Tara Haltom, CMA and April LeClear, CPC will analyze workflow of patient communication; develop checklist for front and back office to ensure critical data acquisition.

The Charlotte Eye, Ear, Nose and Throat, PA team of David J. Browning, MD, PhD, Donna Nicholson, RN, MBA, CHCO and Brianne McCormack seeks to reduce unnecessary variation in safety and quality outcomes while implementing a tiered-intervention process to promote professional accountability.

The Cornerstone Health Care, PA team of John McFadden, MD, Danielle Mchaffey, MD and Suzanne Hilton, MD, aims to improve patient/provider experience through implementing an Encounter Specialist within each Primary Care practice.

The Novant Health Clinical Excellence team of Herbert W. Clegg, II, MD, Rhett L. Brown, MD and Terri B. Cardwell RPh, PharmD, MHA is undertaking a one-year referral optimization with standing referral tracking and follow-up; written care coordination/service relationship agreements.

The Raleigh Neurology team of William G. Ferrell, MD, Cynthia L. Nyberg, CPA, CMPE and Sally John, BSN, RN will improve patient satisfaction, quality of care and outcomes through group visits for patients ina chronic disease state.

The Self-Management Integration Innovators (nominated by Community Care Partners of Greater Mecklenburg) team of Janice Huff, MD, Deanna Didiano, DO and Anita Schambach, RN, MS will test team-based self-management interventions including testing of clinic flow, self-management, action-planning and health goals follow-up with high risk patients.

The Working Out West (nominated by Community Care of North Carolina) team of R.W. “Chip” Watkins, MD, MPH, FAAFP and Marianne Ferlazzo will put together a “Tool Kit” to use in increasing Medicaid enrollment in  CCNC.

Congratulations to this distinguished group of health care leaders!


Share this Post